#Marathon Spotlight 5- Claire Smith

15727175_1191718834244066_7491155350845548597_n

Fresh from Frankfurt, we caught up with head torch legend Claire Smith, who is beaming with enthusiasm, motivation and marathon experience. Claire has produced a great interview with some real pearls of wisdom, including race plan evaluation, running without watches and running to feel.  So chuffed to hear about her THREE runs a week program, which helped her smash Frankfurt!!!!  I hope you all enjoy as much as I did…. Share and tag a marathon buddy spread the marathon love!!

Marathons completed? 

7 (Lochaber, Dublin, Paris, Lochness, Florence, Graz, Frankfurt)

firenzel1

PB Marathon time?

3.51

Favourite marathon and why?

Frankfurt Marathon and close second being Dublin. Dublin started like a nightmare – I got to the start line and my watch died!! So basically I ran as I felt and did a 17min PB! Frankfurt was a different experience for me altogether. It was always going to be more about me taking in my surroundings and appreciating why I’m doing a marathon – feeling grateful to be running and grateful to be able to hop on a plane to a fantastic city and event (in the past I’ve probably taken the privilege very much for granted). My training went as planned (3 runs per week schedule) and the race day went exactly how I wanted it to go. Slow start to take in as much as I could of the city’s wonderful Skyline and then pick up in the second half to the finish. The route is relatively flat and takes you thru the city then out into the district of Sachsehausen, you’re then led back along the Mainzer towards the Trade Tower where an amazing red carpet finish awaits you at Festhalle Frankfurt – indoors, in the dark with fireworks and rave music….amazing!!!! I actually could have carried on running and it was the strongest ive ever felt finishing a race of any distance. The whole race passed in a flash and it was absolutely everything I wanted it to be and more.

e6babf5721

Worst marathon memory and why?

Graz Marathon.

Graz started well, in fact so well I decided to re-evaluate my race plan at 10 miles in (bad move). Fell apart at mile 18 and still have no idea how I managed to scrape a sub 4 finish as I felt I was running in treacle – swore I was never doing another marathon EVER (also, in my head, I was so good that day that I didn’t even need gels and had only taken 1 by mile 18….such a pro!!). Moral of my story…..”you hadn’t trained for the time you were looking for Clairo…..so dinna be a hero on the day”!!!

wall

Marathon plan 80:20, Pfitz, Hal Higdon or other?

When I decided after a 4 year break from doing a marathon (yip, you guessed it, Graz was the reason for that!!) I looked into how I could get myself to the start line as injury free as possible and found the FIRST programme (3 runs per week) had everything I felt was right for me currently. It covers a weekly tempo run, speed session and long run. The days in between are for cross training and also your rest day. I found that by cutting out the mosh miles I actually really looked forward to doing my runs. I never felt bored nor tired and my injuries were only niggles that I think I actually had before starting the programme anyway. For me this programme is a keeper.

Hydration & Nutrition snack of choice on long runs?

Water and HI5 gels were my poison. HI5 gels are the ones I prefer as they glide down more easily and seem less syrupy.

Unknown

Shoes – minimal or maximal ?

Mizuno Wave Inspire 13 give me everything I need, I never feel I have to break them in and give me all the support I need.

UnknownTerrain – trail, track or tarmac?

I tend to do most of my training on the trails at Hazlehead and Counteswells but when I have longer runs to do I like to spend some of it on the roads too. There are so many good loops in and around Aberdeen, we really are very spoiled living here.

4_8_2l

Top tip for #project345 ?

Don’t decide at mile 10 to re address your race plan because you’re feeling fresh and good…..naturally you will feel good, but the race hasn’t even started yet!!! Be patient at the start and strong at the finish – and remember when you feel rubbish so does just about everyone else around you! Good Luck James….you got this one!!!!!

Thanks Claire, one last photo, these splits from Claire at Frankfurt….absolute control and poise throughout.  Thanks Claire and the advice is greatly received and appreciated.  Look forward to the winter head torch runs with the group around Countesswells.

22894318_10102381837760441_8241141468980368428_n

Excellent look out for the next #marathonspotlight next Thursday with Fiona Brian (can she get more views than her husband Tom who leads the way).

Marathon Spotlight #4 -Ali Mathers

Marathon Spotlight #3 – Nikki Gibson

Marathon Spotlight #2 David Scott

#Marathon Spotlight Special – Mel Edwards

Marathon Spotlight #1 – Tom Brian

Run Long and Prosper

James

spear_linkedin_profile_banner

Screen Shot 2017-11-10 at 23.31.29

2 thoughts on “#Marathon Spotlight 5- Claire Smith

Leave a comment