#Marathon Spotlight Special – Mel Edwards

EE-ME-1

I have the great privilege of chatting #project345 through with none other than the Legend Mr Mel Edwards.  I asked if he would like to be in the marathon spotlight, 50 years (plus one day) since his first marathon.  Winning in 2:18:24.  Mel always has a joke or anecdotal advice to offer and his positive mental attitude makes it so easy to listen to the tales and training he used to complete.

An article written by Colin Youngson in the Scottish Distance Running history Website allowed me to look at the career of Mel and showed the dedication to become a top-level athlete.  Mel – The first Fifty years

We all knew he trained like a madman, running endless mileage including 60 x 220 Zatopek-style.   An extremely fine racer but an Olympic champion trainer.

https://youtu.be/XdYHCSAMDr4

Mel-Baton-Relay

Marathons completed

5

PB

2.18.24

Favourite marathon

Polytechnic 1968. Windsor Castle to Chiswick stadium. The precursor to the London Marathon. It was my second marathon and I worked through the field. As I entered the stadium there was an athletics meet going on. I got a massive cheer and thought I had won. Going down the back straight with 300 to go and building up to a big finish I was joined on the infield by a club mate who proceeded to tell me how he had got on in the steeplechase .I got rid of him with 2 words, the second of which was “off”. Finished in 2.19 to find Kenji Kimihara of Japan had  done 2.15. A few weeks later he took silver in the Mexico City Olympics.

1968_mexico

Worst marathon 

Manchester in 1969. Had to drop out with an injury.

Marathon Plan

The Frank Horwill Training Plan.

The English coach Frank Horwill has been coaching endurance athletes for some 45 years. His best known protégée was Tim Hutchings who finished second in the World Cross Country Championships.

220px-Frank_Horwill_-_British_Athletics_Coach

Hydration and nutrition snack  

Didn’t

Shoes 

Maximal

Terrain 

Trails

Mel-Bobby-Charlie

Top tip  

Hill training by Arthur Lydiard 

Key tip

Listen to your body to ensure even pace. My 5 mile splits in my 2.18 varied by only 20 seconds

Mel finishes his The first Fifty with this below which instantly made me smile, motivated and re-invigorated about my next weeks training…

“The best I feel in the day is after a session.  I am eternally grateful I am a runner.” – Mel Edwards

The advice from all in #project345 has been great.  I am thoroughly enjoying learning about training principles, techniques and hydration/nutrition.  The next #marathonspotlight shines on Thursday.

Thanks for reading.  If you want to make sure you dont miss the next marathon spotlight follow the blog above.

Run Long and Prosper

James 

SPEAR:Run

5 thoughts on “#Marathon Spotlight Special – Mel Edwards

Leave a comment