If the Shoe Fits…Wear it.

im1

The first stage of #project345 (if you haven’t yet join our discussion group – Link), getting the right shoes. The vehicle to get me around not just the marathon, but the training before hand. I have been lucky enough to have met Andrew Gordon of The Running Shop recently through the running community. We have chatted briefly but set up a meeting in the shop on George Street, a great chance for me to have a look around. I arrived and was instantly made to feel welcome.

Within 5 minutes we were discussing our own personal goals, favourite runs, upcoming events and also more importantly setting up our next meeting…in the hills. We discussed at length how we are going to achieve our targets but also how to help the running community achieve theirs.

After an hour we finally got to discussing the different shoes, what I would need them for, mileage and surfaces I run on. We talked about my previous shoes, ON flows / Nike Pegasus / Salomon Speedcross / Adidas Kanadias the list goes on. I have never had an official shoe fit. I have stood on the heat mat in some stores and found one time to over pronate, the next to supinate and finally the last time I was neutral…. so I have always went with comfort. Some of these shoes I have bought fit, some of them don’t… thats where we started our “intervention”.

The literature has swung from “Barefoot” minimalistic footwear reducing injury to the cushioning shoes helping to reduce impact forces. In a blog on footwear and the evidence (Link) the summary was :-

 

“People have individualised responses to footwear types – meaning that there is no such thing as the perfect shoe for every runner.”

I think this is an important finding and summary of the evidence, what works for one may be different for the next. We always should listen to our bodies and choose comfort. A shoe fit for purpose, and purposely fitting you.

With this in mind, Andrew and I looked for comfort in a shoe. We spoke toe boxes, different brands, physically picking the shoes up to feel the weight, the structure, the material…something you can’t do online. I tried on the road HOKA, I have heard so much about these shoes in the ultra community. I didn’t think they were for me as I’m predominantly on the road and have a forward contact position, but Andrew was keen I try them and I was amazed at the responsiveness, comfort and light feeling of the shoe whilst it was on. I had judged the book by its cover, but after reading the first chapter and putting my feet into it, it was amazing.

We then moved onto the Brooks Ghost 10. I can only imagine what Cinderella felt when the glass slipper was first put on. It felt like it moulded to my foot, the size was bigger than I had asked for but thats where the expertise comes in, I needed the room for the foot to expand and the extra half size gave me this. An error I would have made by buying online.

But what use is a pair of glass slippers if you can’t dance in them. I was invited to jump on the treadmill. Slightly nervous when someone is watching you, to maintain form but I was so impressed by the comfort, fit and feeling on the feet, I stopped after 4 minutes, jumped off and shouted take my money.

Yes you can get the shoe online but you miss the specific service, the experience of the retailer, their advice. I received this and more from The Running Shop. They listened to my needs. They took the time to get to know me as a runner. Offered suggestions I felt that it had been a joint decision, not based on the brand, price or fancy scientific marketing running shoes come with these days. I was suggested shoes that would help me. Help me do what I needed to do.

Don’t take my word for it, find a full comprehensive review here … (Link)

So I left the shop, box in hand, smile on face. If you are in need of shoes, I can’t recommend Andrew at The Running Shop highly enough at 193 George Street. The wheels are set now how do I train for the marathon.

Next Blog – The Training Plan
Run Long and Prosper
James Cruickshank
SPEAR:RUN

4 thoughts on “If the Shoe Fits…Wear it.

Leave a comment